German International School Toronto Faculty & Staff

 

MEET OUR FACULTY

Career Opportunities
  • Maren Bödeker

    Homeroom Teacher

    Maren holds a M.A.Ed (Gymn/Ges) in Art & German and brings over 20 years of experience to GIST teaching at all levels at a high school. Besides teaching, she follows another passion, working as an artist in residence in her studio. Contact her at maren.boedeker@gistonline.ca.

  • Sierra Cumming

    Music Teacher

    Sierra graduated with a Bachelor of Music from Humber College and has been a music educator since 2011 teaching all levels and ages. When Sierra is not at GIST, she likes to watch documentaries, and going to live music. You can reach her at sierra.cumming@gistonline.ca.

  • Laura Grätz

    Admissions & Marketing Coordinator

    Laura joined the GIST in 2020 and supports us in the areas of admissions and marketing. She holds a BA degree in Business Administration and gained international experience during her studies in the Netherlands and Colombia. Laura enjoys being in nature and exploring new places. You can reach her at laura.graetz@gistonline.ca.

  • Johanna Huberth

    Principal

    Johanna took over the position of GIST Principal on August 1, 2022. She joined us in 2019 for the position of Homeroom Teacher Gr. 7/8 & Head of Science. Johanna studied Secondary Education at the University of Augsburg. In her free time, she loves running & drawing. Contact: johanna.huberth@gistonline.ca.

  • Sabrina Hülsmann

    Head of Kindergarten

    Sabrina studied at the Franz-von-Assisi Schule in Osnabrück and has been working for GIST since 2016. She enjoys spending time in nature, stargazing through her telescope, and spending time with her family and her Chinchilla. You can reach her at sabrina.hulsmann@gistonline.ca.

  • Farwa Mahmood

    Homeroom Teacher

    Farwa holds the position of homeroom teacher in grades 5/6. She studied German and English (B.Ed) at the Johannes-Gutenberg Universität in Mainz. In her free time, she enjoys reading, discovering new places, taking pictures, and spending quality time with family and friends. You can reach her at farwa.mahmood@gistonline.ca.

  • Annalena Reinert

    Homeroom Teacher

    Annalena studied Secondary Education and was working as the Head of Aftercare before she became Homeroom Teacher. When she is not at school, Annalena enjoys snowboarding, hiking, and traveling. You can reach her at annalena.reinert@gistonline.ca.

  • Claudia Scarlett

    Homeroom Teacher

    Claudia has joined us in 2016 and holds the position of Homeroom Teacher Grade 1/2. She teaches German, Maths and Science in the primary grades. She studied at the University of Lüneburg and enjoys reading, dancing & exploring nature with her children. Contact her at claudia.scarlett@gistonline.ca.

  • Miriam Schulte-Zweckel

    German Coordinator

    Miriam took over the position of German Coordinator at the GIST in 2021. She has been teaching German as a second language (DaZ) & as a foreign language (DaF) at elementary schools throughout her career. You can reach her at miriam.schulte-zweckel@gistonline.ca.

  • Niclas Schulze

    Teacher

    Niclas joined us in 2021/2022 and took over PE in all grades at GIST. He teaches Ethics & Geography and supports Grades 1/2 in Math & German. Niclas is interested in Geo-politics, cultures and sports & likes to go travelling. You can reach him at niclas.schulze@gistonline.ca.

  • Wiebke Tamme

    Business Manager

    Wiebke has been working for GIST since 2018 and holds a M.Sc. degree in Finance & Controlling from the University of Erlangen-Nuremberg. Prior to GIST, she worked as Controller in Germany. Wiebke enjoys spending time outdoors, hiking and camping. You can reach her at wiebke.tamme@gistonline.ca.

  • Caroline Weissenborn

    Homeroom Teacher

    Caroline joined the GIST in 2021 after working at a multilingual primary school in Leipzig. She studied primary & musical education & German as a second language. She enjoys nature & trying out different dance styles. You can reach her at caroline.weissenborn@gistonline.ca.

  • Janine Wolf

    Administrative Assistant

    Janine joined us in 2022 and holds a BA in Educational Sciences/ Psychology & a Diploma as a Social Service Worker. She has been working with children and families in different settings in Germany & Canada. Janine loves baking and is passionate about skiing & running. You can reach her at janine.wolf@gistonline.ca.

  • Christian Schallehn

    Head of Aftercare

    You can reach the teacher at christian.schallehn@gistonline.ca. More information will follow soon!

  • Sarah Seibel-Proulx

    Kindergarten Teacher

    You can reach her at sarah.seibel-proulx@gistonline.ca. More information will follow soon!

  • Kathleen Metzner

    Homeroom Teacher

    You can reach her at kathleen.metzner@gistonline.ca. More information will follow soon!

  • Jasmine Bush

    IB Coordinator

    You can reach her at jasmine.bush@gistonline.ca. More information will follow soon!

  • Stephan Stoffelen

    Head of Science

    More information will follow soon!

  • Nafy Gaye

    Kindergarten Teacher

    You can reach her at nafy.gaye@gistonline.ca. More information will follow soon!

  • Lara Woronowicz

    French Teacher

    You can reach the teacher at lara.woronowicz@gistonline.ca. More information will follow soon!

  • Sabrina Peixoto

    Supply Teacher for Sciences

    You can reach Sabrina at sabrina.peixoto@gistonline.ca. More information will folllow soon!