Board of Directors

The German International School Toronto is a not-for-profit corporation under Ontario law. It is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors that manages the business affairs of the school as set out in the corporation’s By-Laws. The Board also provides the strategic direction for the school and ensures that it continually thrives to accomplish its vision. The day-to-day operations of the school are entrusted to the Principal. The current Board members are parents and friends of the school who generously devote their time and effort to the school’s success. They are elected by the corporation’s members at the Annual General Meeting. There are a maximum of 9 elected Directors for a term of two years. The current Directors and Officeholders are:

  • Dr. Philipp von Witzendorff, President & Chairman
  • Dr. Marco Schmidt, Treasurer
  • Gregory McLean, Secretary
  • Dr. Luigi Castagna, Director
  • Petra Robson, Director
  • Egmont Schäfer, Director
  • Noella de Souza, Director
  • Ted Overton, Director

If you would like to contact any member of the Board of Directors, please direct your inquiry to